A lil’ bittuh’ sin?

The actions that are produced by selfish motives are obvious, since they include sexual immorality, moral corruption, doing whatever feels good, idolatry, drug use and casting spells, hate, fighting, obsession, losing your temper, competitive opposition, conflict, selfishness, group rivalry, jealousy, drunkenness, partying, and other things like that. I warn you as I have already warned you, that those who do these kinds of things won’t inherit God’s kingdom. Galatians 5:19‭-‬21 CEB

Are we guilty of anything above? We can think that out “little thing” is ok. We’re so use to it. We grow into lying to ourselves…daily. Justification.

I see me up there. Selfishness. I want my way, a lot. Not really giving thought to how someone else might feel inside. Something as simple as not wanting to share (item, food) may bring up past issues for another. My intentions may not be to personally attack them but I’m so caught up in myself I don’t recognise my harshness at times. 

My loss of temper. Oh yea, happens a lot at home. I don’t have to yell to lose it. The things I utter. Y’all gettin on my nerves. Shut up. Get out. Stop talkin to me. All this because I don’t want to deal with more tasks or whatever. We hurt those closest to us. It isn’t they’re fault (kids even my hubby gets it) I’m an adult with responsibilities.

Doing whatever feels good. I think it’s ok to eat 3 slices of red velvet back to back. Yea right! That’s not conducive to what I’ve been praying for. But I’ll say I deserve it for all the aggravation endured that day. 

You might say some of these examples aren’t a big deal. But they are. My temple must be clean for the holy spirit to have free course. Glutton is a sin. Selfishness is too. Getting angry & acting on it…sin. Love my neighbor as I love me. I love me but putting junk in that could kill me later…uh-uh. Too much of anything can’t be good, hello, “too” much. I pray to God for self control, to say no, to myself.

There are a few others I deal/dealt with. Thank God for his delivering power! But those so called not so bad things, have to be relinquished too, for real. Who’s strong enough to tell themselves the truth? Changing for the better will do us all some good. No shame in it! Once you tell on you the power is taken back.

Leave a Reply

